MEAC / Spartan Men / Sports

Jones up for Ben Jobe, Skip Prosser Awards Mike Bello, Asst. SID

NORFOLK, Va. – Norfolk State men’s basketball head coach Robert Jones is a nominee for a pair of awards from The fourth-year head coach is a finalist for the Ben Jobe Award and the Skip Prosser Award, the organization announced this week.

It marks the third straight year Jones has been a nominee for the Ben Jobe Award, presented annually to the top minority coach in Division I basketball. He is one of 21 finalists.

The award is named after Ben Jobe, who held head coaching jobs at HBCU’s Southern, Alabama A&M, Alabama State, Talladega, Tuskegee and South Carolina State. Jobe led Southern to four NCAA tournament appearances, including a first-round upset of Georgia Tech in 1993.

Jones is also one of 20 finalists for the Skip Prosser Award, presented annually to those who not only achieve success on the basketball court but who also display moral integrity off of it as well.

The award is named after the late Skip Prosser, who posted a career record of 291-146 in 14 seasons as a head coach at Loyola, Xavier and Wake Forest. During his time at Wake Forest, Prosser’s teams averaged 21 wins per season.

NSU finished 17-17 overall this year and 12-4 and in second place in the MEAC regular season standings. The Spartans advanced to the MEAC Championship game for the first time in five years.

Jones is one of two MEAC coaches up for the Ben Jobe Award, along with North Carolina Central’s LeVelle Moton, and the only coach in the league who is a nominee for the Skip Prosser Award.

The Ben Jobe and Skip Prosser award winners will be announced in Phoenix at this year’s D-I Final Four.

2017 Ben Jobe Award Finalists
Tommy Amaker, Harvard
Mike Anderson, Arkansas
Rod Barnes, CSU Bakersfield
Jamion Christian, Mount St. Mary’s
Mike Davis, Texas Southern
Johnny Dawkins, UCF
Earl Grant, Charleston
Leonard Hamilton, Florida State
Ron Hunter, Georgia State
James Jones, Yale
Robert Jones, Norfolk State
Kevin Keatts, UNC Wilmington
Danny Manning, Wake Forest
Ritchie McKay, Liberty
LeVelle Moton, North Carolina Central
King Rice, Monmouth
Montez Robinson, Alcorn State
Kelvin Sampson, Houston
Anthony Stewart, UT Martin
Dedrique Taylor, Cal State Fullerton
Willis Wilson, Texas A&M Corpus Christi

2017 Skip Prosser Award Finalists
Randy Bennett, Saint Mary’s
Mike Brey, Notre Dame
John Dunne, Saint Peter’s
Scott Cross, UT Arlington
Jamion Christian, Mount St. Mary’s
Chris Holtmann, Butler
Joe Jones, Boston University
Robert Jones, Norfolk State
Danny Manning, Wake Forest
Frank Martin, South Carolina
Nick McDevitt, UNC Asheville
Ritchie McKay, Liberty
Ryan Odom, UMBC
Matt Painter, Purdue
Josh Pastner, Georgia Tech
Steve Prohm, Iowa State
Pat Skerry, Towson
Russell Turner, UC Irvine
Willis Wilson, Texas A&M Corpus Christi
Jay Wright, Villanova


Originally published at