Business / Campus Life / Education / Local / National / Spartan Echo TV Videos / Technology / TV

Norfolk State excels at National Broadcasting Society national convention

NSU's National Broadcasting Society President and AERho member Storm Calder

NSU’s National Broadcasting Society President and AERho member Storm Calder

The Norfolk State University Chapter of the National Broadcasting Society (NBS) showed up and showed out for the 74th NBS-AERho National Convention in Los Angeles. NSU is the only active HBCU in the society. 15 students and three faculty members attended the convention, which set an NSU record for participation.

NSU students broke the NBS chapter record in national awards and competitions at this convention, which was considerable due to NSU’s past performances at the convention. The convention’s On The Spot (OTS) production competition starts from the time attendees register on site at the convention and ends at midnight the night before the awards ceremony. Freshman Jaylen Hobdy tied for second place in the OTS Promotional Video category. Storm Calder tied for first place in the OTS Instagram Video category. She was also recognized with an Honorable Mention for Student of the Year

“When You Thought You Nailed It” | OTS Instagram Video, 1st Place | by Storm Calder

OTS Promo Video, 2nd Place by Jaylen Hobdy

In addition, the NSU NBS chapter was recognized as Most Improved Chapter (over the previous year’s performance) and had seven students inducted into AERho, the honor society component of the National Broadcasting Society. AERho is recognized by the Association of College Honor Societies (ACHS).

Lateef Gibson of Norfolk State University’s Media Services was recognized as Professional Member of the Year and longtime NBS adviser and mass communications and journalism professor Dr. Paula Briggs, retiring at the end of this semester, also received the honor of Lifetime Professional Member Status.

“I was beyond excited for our students and our chapter. Under the leadership of our chapter president, Storm Calder, the persistence of our fundraising chair, Johnnie Maples, and the supportive e-board, this chapter far exceeded my highest expectations!” said Dr. Briggs.