Local / Spartan Men / Spartan Women / Sports

NSU places record 93 on MEAC All-Academic Team

NSU All-Academic Team

NSU All-Academic Team

NORFOLK, Va. – For the fifth year in a row, the Norfolk State athletics department set a new program record for student-athletes on the MEAC All-Academic Team. NSU had 93 earn conference all-academic honors for the 2014-15 academic year as the MEAC office released the entire list last week for all conference schools.

The Spartans bested their previous all-time high of 89 from 2013-14. NSU has seen gradual increases of student-athletes on the all-academic team over the past several years, from 40 in 2009-10 to 54 in 2010-11, 67 in 2011-12, 76 in 2012-13 and then 89 and now 93 the last two years.

To be eligible for the MEAC All-Academic Team, a student-athlete must be a sophomore or higher in their athletic standing, be in at least their second year at the school in 2014-15 and have a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or better.

Among the MEAC’s 13 institutions, NSU’s total of 93 was bested only by Howard (159), South Carolina State (101), Bethune-Cookman (99) and North Carolina A&T (99). Of those four schools, only S.C. State does not have more sports programs than NSU.

Below is the entire list of Norfolk State student-athletes on the 2014-15 MEAC All-Academic Team, including their sport abbreviation and major in parenthesis.

WOMEN (45): Kieera Basey (WBB, Business), Amber Brown (WBB, Psychology), Rae Corbo (WBB,
Business), Dominique Harper (WBB, Kinesiotherapy), Quineshia Leonard (WBB, Kinesiology), Courtney Brown (WBO, Social Work), Ashley Buck (WBO, Sociology), Carrie Hickey (WBO, Social Work), Courtney Williford (WBO, Early Childhood Education),Kelsea Yarbrough (WBO, Electronics Engineering), Sommer Di Fulgo (WSB, Psychology), Megan Dunning (WSB, Food Science),Alina Moriarty (WSB, Biology), Stephanie Wheatley (WSB, Elementary Education), Whitney Williams (WSB, Sociology), Liza Gordeeva (WTE, Tourism and Hospitality Management), Yvonne Kamegne (WTE, Business), Andrea Macchiavello (WTE, Business), Mafalda Lhorca (WTE, Mass Communication), Krystal Scott (WTE, Kinesiology), Tiara Davis (WTK, History), Adugna Desalegn (WTK, Interdisciplinary Studies), Amethyst Edmond (WTK, Biology), Kassandra Irizarry (WTK, Nursing), Courtney Kearse(WTK, Kinesiotherapy), Tori Lewis-Johnson (WTK, Management Information Systems), Te’Shaibrah Myles (WTK, Kinesiotherapy),Jessica Toliver (WTK, Mass Communication), Qua’Nesha Wallace (WTK, Kinesiotherapy), Rachel Webb (WTK, Political Science),Charity Wilson (WTK, Kinesiotherapy), Sydney Dailey (WVB, Psychology), Angie Darcus (WVB, Kinesiotherapy), Uwem Etuk (WVB, Psychology), Jasmin Flowers (WVB, Chemistry), Janay Frazier (WVB, Optical Engineering), Alex Irizarry (WVB, Pre-Nursing),Jessica Johnson (WVB, Business), Dominique Parker (WVB, English), Taylor Brandon (CHR, Early Childhood Education), Alexis Griffen (CHR, Social Work), Desiree Lewis (CHR, Business), Kiana Manson (CHR, Chemistry), Precious Ricks (CHR, Mass Communication), Bratasia Stephenson (CHR, Sociology).

MEN (48): Troy Applin (MBA, Building Construction Technology), Jeff Di Fulgo (MBA, Kinesiotherapy), Denathan Dukes (MBA, Computer Science), Corey Haynes (MBA, Physical Education, Health and Fitness), Ian Horne (MBA, Kinesiotherapy), Justin Lee(MBA, Computer Science), Matt Outman (MBA, Accountancy), Kyle Vaas (MBA, Psychology), Josh Vales (MBA, Food Science),Hefeng Sun (MBB, Business), Andre Bean (MFB, Physical Education, Health and Fitness), Tyler Clark (MFB, Physical Education, Health and Fitness), Shakeem Copeland (MFB, Sociology), Shawn Fauntleroy Jr. (MFB, Psychology), Tanner Fiano (MFB, Mass Communication), Alonzo Fowlkes (MFB, Electronics Engineering), Ramsey Henderson (MFB, Mass Communication), Louis Humphrey (MFB, History), DeMarta’ Johnson (MFB, Physical Education, Health and Fitness), Alex Killam (MFB/MTE, Electronics Engineering), Keenan Lambert (MFB, Business), T.C. Livingston (MFB, Political Science), Jonathan Okafor (MFB, Electronics Engineering), Daniel Oladimeji (MFB, Computer Science), Antonio Perryman (MFB, Building Construction Technology), Mike Phillips (MFB, Computer Information Technology), E.J. Rogers (MFB, Mass Communication), Wilonte’ Roscoe (MFB, Electronics Engineering), Brandon Walker (MFB, Business), Igor Braga (MTE, Computer Science), Daniel Grauel (MTE, Business), Shaheed Mourillon-Swift (MTE, Psychology), Peter Ramstromer-Pello (MTE, Electronics Technology), Damtew Adnew (MTK, Electronics Engineering), Marcus Anderson (MTK, Computer Science), Dwight Bland (MTK, Biology), De’Von Booker (MTK, Computer Information Technology), Joseph Boyd (MTK, Mass Communication), Michael-Thomas Brown (MTK, Psychology), Chris Crawford(MTK, Building Construction Technology), Michael Evans (MTK, Sociology), Romero Hines (MTK, Business), Da’trail Hockaday(MTK, Accountancy), David Kibet (MTK, Biology), Sammy Kiptoo (MTK, Business and Accountancy), Quentin Parker (MTK, Physical Education, Health and Fitness), Michael Smith Jr. (MTK, Mass Communication), Willard Ward (MTK, Business).

MBB – Men’s Basketball
WBB – Women’s Basketball
WVB – Women’s Volleyball
MFB – Football
CHR – Cheerleading
WSB – Women’s Softball
MBA – Men’s Baseball
WBO – Women’s Bowling
WTE – Women’s Tennis
MTE – Men’s Tennis
MTK – Men’s Track and Field
WTK – Women’s Track and Field


Originally published on NSUSpartans.com and used with permission.